Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

18b149286ca6f2920e017bd5d2ffcbf5

Guardians of the Galaxy may not be technically be the best film. It has its faults. A boring villain. Some weak acting here and there. It doesn’t always logically make sense. But its greatest strength is something few movies can effectively achieve. It makes you feel good. The first time I saw GOTG I left the theater with a big grin on my face. I was truly happy! I can’t think of another movie that made me feel as good and carefree as Guardians of the Galaxy.

guardians-of-the-galaxy30b
There are many things that I enjoy about GOTG. First and foremost I love Rocket Raccoon. Fiercely. I’ve gone a little merchandise crazy lately. I have multiple posters, t-shirts, a hoodie, I’m currently debating buying a very expensive collectible figure. Heck, I even have a Rocket Raccoon mug (that is admittedly very creepy). I love the CGI work on both Rocket and Groot. They look incredibly realistic (and adorable). Rocket has a great personality. Bradley Cooper really relishes the role and his voice work is some of the best I have ever heard. It hardly sounds like Bradley. The relationship between Rocket and Groot is very touching, I cried a little at the end when I thought Groot might be dead.

6xQVf4b
I remember Chris Pratt from his small, but hilarious role in one of my favorite action movies, Wanted. You just can’t help but like him. GOTG would not have been a success with anyone else in the role of Peter Quill. Chris is Peter. He’s able to embody the humor, goofiness, but also the vulnerability of Peter.
My third favorite part of the film is the awesome (!) soundtrack. Before seeing the film I loved 70s tunes, so I knew from the trailer Guardians would be right up my alley. I love how all the songs are things Peter actually listens to. It’s a nice touch that adds to the humor, but also the sentimentality of the film.

zoe-saldana-guardians-of-the-galaxy
There are a few relatively minor things I dislike about the film. #1 being Zoe Saldana. In no way is she believable as a bad ass assassin. She has no edge to her. Also, she and Chris Pratt have zero chemistry in my opinion. I don’t really buy their relationship. This aspect really worries me for future films. #2 The villain sucks. I can’t even remember his name right now. He’s played by Lee Pace. He doesn’t really matter much anyways. #3 Some of the costumes and hair are silly. I’m looking at you Benecio Del Torro and Glenn Close.
Guardians of the Galaxy is a feel good, quirky film that took the world by storm in 2014. As good as dark, gritty films can be, sometimes the world just needs something positive for a change. I give Guardians of the Galaxy 9 “Oh yeahs” out of 10 because it succeeds on so many levels: humor, action, emotional impact. “Ain’t no thing like me, except me.”

tumblr_n9tnhnGl6h1t1047bo1_500

8 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

  1. Great review. I really like this one too, but I didn’t quite love it like most people did. Still I’m really anxious to see it again and I appreciate that Marvel actually did something a little different.

    Like

  2. I first saw this in the theater with my Dad. He loved it, I didn’t. But I liked it. I also found Zoe Saldana boring. She always plays the same bad-ass butt-kicking heroine and I’m kind of sick of it. And yes, the villain is ‘bleh.’ But Groot and Rocket are great. My favorite superhero movies are the first two Raimi “Spider-Man” movies because they have awesome villains and a great sense of humor. The third one sucked balls with two many sideplots and Tobey Maguire strutting around like an emo douche. I don’t like “The Avengers” much, I’m not really sure why. And I think “The Dark Knight” is overrated. Don’t ask me why, everybody else thinks it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t remember the first Spider Man movies very well, maybe I’ll re-watch them again sometime. I haven’t seen The Avengers since I’m not a big Marvel fan. I like The Dark Knight quite a bit, but the last act of it really starts to drag, it’s simply too long. I could’ve almost been two movies. Thanks again for your comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

