Trailer Review: Inherent Vice

inherent-vice-poster-2014

Inherent Vice is the latest film from Paul Thomas Anderson, director of The Master and There Will be Blood. I haven’t seen any of his previous films; I want to, I’ve just never gotten around to it. But this film seems like a bit of a departure from his previous films in terms of tone. The Master and There Will be Blood are dark dramas whereas Inherent Vice, judging by this trailer, looks surprisingly funny and even light. This film has quite an impressive cast with Joaquin Phoenix in the leading role with support from Reese Witherspoon, Benicio Del Toro (a favorite of mine), Josh Brolin, Owen Wilson, Martin Short, Eric Roberts, and Maya Rudolph. The plot centers on Larry “Doc” Sportello (Joaquin Phoenix), a Los Angeles detective as he investigates the disappearance of a former girlfriend in 1970.
The plot, as described by one of the characters in the first 20 seconds of the trailer sounds a little convoluted and confusing. But I’m pretty sure that’s the point. It’s funny in the trailer, but I wonder how it will work with the film as a whole. Anyways, I really like the music used in the trailer and the way it is cut is just brilliant. The timing is perfect, it draws you in, and it’s simply funny. Funnier than any “comedy” movie these days. I kind of wonder how misleading the trailer might be. It’s hilarious, but the film is categorized as a crime drama on IMDB. Which just makes me wonder, what is really the tone of this film? I would hate to be so cheaply misled.
Basically, my reaction to this trailer can be summed up with one image:

Aaaaaah!!!
Aaaaaah!!!

Judging by the trailer, the cast, and the director this film is a must see for me. But as good as the trailer is, I still feel like I don’t really know what the movie is about, if it’s a comedy or a drama. That worries me a little bit, but at least the trailer doesn’t give too much away. Even if it ends up not being a great film, I think it will be worth seeing for some valuable performances. Inherent Vice hits theaters in December.

Leave a Reply

